Posted in Bits and Pieces

My Dragon

The darkness weighed down upon me like a heavy burden I would never shake. What had I done? I wondered if I was condemned to wander this eternal darkness forever. I knew this was only my mind and that my body was warm and safe inside their damn little room.

That was how they did things. They sent you into your own mind and let you create your own terrors to haunt you for how ever long they felt like leaving you there. It was usually only a day or two, sometimes a week. Never longer. But that was the trick. While the real world’s time ticked on and away and the days smoothly slipped by, you were stuck. You had to wait in the forever nightmare that stuck to you and held you there. And I’m sure that they watch. They’re just plain sick that way. I think they get their kicks out of seeing me run around in circles from nothing but the shadows flickering in the corners of my mind.

There was one thing that they never planned on and that was my salvation. Once I really thought about how it was just my mind and that I was the one that created everything around me, I just stopped running. Why bother? It was so unreal that it wasn’t really scary any way. I only ran because I didn’t want to see want they were. Could I look at the ghosts in my mind and still remain sane? I decided it was time to find out.

I turned and was surprised to find a dragon. Was this what I had turned all of my fears into? I stood my ground, feeling the heat of his steamy breath scorch my flesh, well the flesh of my mind and that isn’t really the same. Is it?

He thundered to a stop and breathed onto me with his charring flames. My skin burned, turning black and slowly flaking off, leaving the white bone. Then the dragon laughed and breathed back my fiery death. As my skin was restored, I wondered why it hadn’t hurt to die. Is death of the real world so very painless? I hope so.

That’s when this dragon and I sat and played a long game of chess, which he won. He was cheating however and that’s why I demanded that we play another game. That damn creature cheated again and I lost, unable to detect his moments of vile betrayal. So, I was greatly angered and the dragon and I once again were enemies. I mounted my beautiful steed and charged him with my lance pointed at his venerable belly. He spewed his flames upon me and my plate mail grew hot, but I charged on and drove the lance into his soft body. His blood poured down upon me and I smelled the death of this creature. I was shocked that he had actually died. Was that all it took to slay a dragon? I mourned him. For who should I play chess with now?

Author:

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Leave a Reply

