Posted in Free Write

Friday’s Free Write

Beginning

First. From the start, there was always something that was going on. I could always feel it deep down inside, but it was denied. They never told use the truth. Lies. Always the lies, from the very beginning, from the first of it. I could never trust them. And they always wondered why. First it was Santa. Nope. He wasn’t real. Just a lie. A good excuse to give me an extra present and that was nice, sure. But a lie just the same. But a lie. Why a lie? They could just buy me an extra gift. They felt that they had to lie to me from the beginning of my life. When I was laying in my crib still cooing little baby noises, they were leaning over me and whispering little lies while they smiled down at me. Oh, and it’s not just them. All the adults are this way. Every one of them. The tooth fairy? A lie. Why would any of use believe that a beautiful creature would come in the middle of the night to buy our teeth? Doesn’t really make sense when you stop to think about it. And a bunny that hides eggs? More lies. They are stories that they spin up and tell us from the time we are born. They fill our heads with them. And why? There is no answer to this. When I confronted them with the truth, they denied it. There was sadness in their eyes. Later in the night, I heard them talking about me growing up and loosing my childhood. Really? Is discovering all the lies what it means to grow up? Well, then make me an adult already. I am ready to know the truth. What is the real world like? I would have rather know that from the beginning thank you very  much. Why put on the gloss and glitter? What is it that makes adults think that I as a younger person cannot handle the truth? Tell me it all from the beginning. Give me what is real.

Author:

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Leave a Reply

