Posted in Exercises

Beginning a Story #2

This is an exercise that I did back in college. If this was written on paper, there would be some dust flying right now! But it made me think about how fun doing these were. The idea was that you would write the beginning of a story (up to a paragraph) and then you’d turn it in. Then they’d get all mixed up and passed back out. Your home work was to finish the story. It was weird, but a lot of fun.

These were the 2 beginnings that I passed in for the second assignment. They are 2 possible beginnings for the same story. Anyone want to try finishing one or both of them? 

Writing Fiction

Beginning a Story #2

1

The porch door screams and slams shut behind her. She stands there, dripping water onto the floor and glaring at me. I am waiting for her outburst, watching her flicking her tail back and forth in irritation. I can say nothing to her that will calm her. She shakes her black mane, showering water through the room. She knows this annoys me, but I say nothing.

“The council is meeting now.” She says as she strides across the room.

“I know” I sit down at the small round table in the kitchen.

She stands near me, her height towering over me. “You should never have brought him here!” She hisses. A low growl rumbles in her chest.

“But I did. It cannot be undone now.” I look up at her and sigh, “I will wait for the council’s judgment.”

She tosses her head and crosses her strong arms over her broad chest. “And what about us? What about your family?”

I reach up and gently take her large hand in mine. I slowly rake my claws through the soft fur on the back of her hand. “I don’t know. It will depend on what the council decides.”

“And what if they exile you?” She tries to hide her fear in another growl, but her anger is slipping now.

“Then I will leave and I will ask you to come with me.” I say.

2

She slaps me, hard and across the face. I say nothing. I look at her, trying to ignore the stinging of my face. Tears trickle down my cheeks and hers. She suddenly clutches me and we weep. The fear between us, with in us, is strong. There are worse things than exile.

Author:

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Leave a Reply

