Posted in Exercises

Beginning a Story

Hey, I found another one of these! More college memories…

Here are 2 possible beginnings for the same story. One beginning a little later then the other. Try starting a story with one.

1

We were having breakfast together on a Sunday morning at the end of autumn. I was sitting across the table from him, wondering about all the things that had been happening between us. I couldn’t make myself believe then that we would continue our marriage. I wanted to believe, but couldn’t imagine the solution. So, I got up, with my bowl and went to the sink, trying not to look at him nor think of him, but found myself doing so anyway.

I was standing there, with my bowl, and staring at him, even though I didn’t want to, when he twitched. A funny little movement of eye and lip. Puzzlement painted his face and we both forgot about the recent fights. I stood there, in confusion and waited for him to say something, but he didn’t. Instead, he leaned forward and fell from the chair. I gaped at him, knowing what was happening, but not wanting to believe. I stood watching him twitch, knowing he had hit his head as he fell, knowing I should do something to help. Maybe move the table so his arm would stop banging against the metal leg. But my eyes refused to relay the message. So, I stood, watching his violent convulsions in paradoxical stillness.

Then it was done and he lay motionless with his mouth hanging slack and foam dripping onto the floor, working on making a small sticky puddle. His arm was bleeding and like wise creating a puddle. I stared at the mess and thought how I was going to have to mop the floor.

2

Then movement came to me in a flaring burst as the fire of fear scorched through me. I was at his side in a minute, my nurse brain finally waking up and taking over. He was breathing, in choking gasps, but regularly and deeply. His pulse was strong and the bleeding had mostly stopped. I jumped up and sprinted to the living room, fumbling at the phone, feeling the nurse receding back as the emotions gushed forward. I dropped the phone and retrieved it twice, then stabbed out 911. I was thankful that someone answered the phone, I couldn’t do this alone.

Author:

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Leave a Reply

